Bristol, Copenhagen and Frankfurt shortlisted for 2014 European Green Capital award

Bristol, Copenhagen and Frankfurt have been chosen as the three finalists in the competition to find Europe's Green Capital for 2014. They have been selected from the 18 cities that applied for the 2014 award. The finalists were proposed by an independent panel of experts, who assessed the entries in 12 different areas: Local contribution to global climate change Local transport Green urban areas incorporating sustainable land use
- Nature and biodiversity
- Quality of local ambient air
- Noise pollution
- Waste production and management
- Water consumption
- Waste water treatment
- Eco innovation and sustainable employment
- Environmental management of the local authority
- Energy performance.

Four cities have been awarded the title of European Green Capital since its inception in 2010. Stockholm won the inaugural title, followed by Hamburg in 2011, the current holder Vitoria-Gasteiz, Spain, and Nantes, who will hold the title in 2013. Bristol, Copenhagen and Frankfurt will present their vision, action plans, communication strategy and their potential to act as a role model for other cities to the Jury on 8 June 2012 in Brussels. The Jury will deliver its verdict at an award ceremony in Vitoria-Gasteiz, Spain on 29 June.
Share this!
Posted by Gloria Llopis | 2012-04-16